State Mine Heritage Park is a site just on the outskirts of Lithgow. Heritage Park had once been one of the primary coal mines operating at the time in the mining industry and was well known as the ‘State Mine Gully’. The Heritage Park now houses a museum for tourists and visitors, which showcases artifacts and significant pieces of history from the years that the Mine was operating. The State Gully Mine is available for hire, you can hold events, such as wedding receptions, celebrations, work training, and commercial photoshoots.
Visit the historic site and take in the surroundings, that was once a government owned local coal mine. The Mine was founded in 1919 and by the year 1992 the production of mining had commenced. The mine had employed 490 workers at the time and was one of the largest employers in Western New South Wales. During an eight-hour shift, 1650 tons of coal was mined and produced. Mining coal required workers to descend 270 feet below the surface, and coal was transported back up by an endless rope traveling at around 2 miles per hour. Power was obtained from a large power station adjacent to the mine, which provided electricity to both mine and Small Arms Factory, as well as to the Lithgow Hospital. The Wallerawang Power Station was built in 1957, which led to the closure of the Old Lithgow Power Station. The structure was eventually converted into a bathhouse for the miners.
In 1964 the Mine was severely damaged by floods and unfortunately was forced to close. Many residents lost their jobs and were forced to leave town to find work. At the time, Lithgow did not offer many alternative choices for workers, although it has only significantly progressed over time.